Dashboards can be accessed in two modes: Edit mode and View mode. This article describes the main differences between these two modes.
Edit mode is available to all owners of a Dashboard, or users assigned to a group which has been granted ownership of a Dashboard. Edit mode is indicated by the Edit button, as shown below.
Edit mode enables you to edit the Dashboard, including:
- Modify the Dashboard settings, including the Filter mode (see Dashboard views and filters for more information).
- Duplicate the Dashboard.
- Delete the Dashboard.
- Create/edit/delete Dashboard tiles.
- Rearrange and customize the displayed Dashboard tiles.
- Create alerts from Graph or Single Metric Dashboard tiles.
View mode provides users - other than the Dashboard owner or those assigned to a group that has been granted ownership - with a read-only view of the Dashboard and its tiles. You cannot modify any of the Dashboard contents. However, you can duplicate the Dashboard and assign a new user or group as the owner; in turn, as the owner or member of a group assigned with ownership, you can edit the Dashboard as required.