Dashboards can be accessed in two modes: Edit mode and View mode. This article describes the main differences between these two modes.
Edit mode is available to all owners of a Dashboard, or users assigned to a group which has been granted ownership of a Dashboard. Note that the changes you make in this mode become the default Dashboard settings, and are applied to all users accessing the Dashboard.
Edit mode is indicated by the Edit button, as shown below.
Edit mode enables you to edit the Dashboard, including:
- Modify the Dashboard settings, including the Filter mode (see Dashboard views and filters for more information). The Filters button, as shown below, is only enabled in this mode.
- Duplicate the Dashboard.
- Delete the Dashboard.
- Create/edit/delete Dashboard tiles.
- Rearrange and customize the displayed Dashboard tiles.
- Create alerts from Graph or Single Metric Dashboard tiles.
View mode gives users a read-only view of the Dashboard and its tiles. You cannot modify any of the Dashboard contents but you can personalize the way in which you view the Dashboard (acccording to the time frame you select). Note that if you are the Dashboard owner or assigned to a group that has been granted ownership, this mode is not applicable.
In this mode you can also duplicate the Dashboard and assign a new user or group as the owner; in turn, as the owner or member of a group assigned with ownership, you can edit the Dashboard as required.